Whipped Cream Cake with Whipped Cream Frosting

Whipped Cream Cake | Pinky's PantryEver had one of those days when you had so much to do, but there were a million and one interruptions so you just couldn’t complete a thing? This was one of those days for me.  Every time I’d start on a project at work, someone would come up needing help with something so I had to set the project aside. When I would try to get that person’s request done, someone else would interrupt with a different request. Just when I thought I could finally get back to tackling my original project, you guessed it…… another interruption. By the time I got off work, I felt like I’d gotten nothing done all day even though I’d been running around like a chicken without a head!Whipped Cream Cake | Pinky's PantryWhen I arrived home, I decided to combat the feeling of being overwhelmed and unproductive by baking a cake because that’s just what I do. It’s comforting for me. So I pulled out my recipe box, rifled through my index cards, and found an old recipe for Whipped Cream Cake that I’ve had forever. I don’t even remember where I got this recipe from or when was the last time I made it. I decided to double the recipe and bake two cakes which turned out moist, tasty, and beautifully level! Just begging for frosting. So I whipped up a batch of Whipped Cream Frosting to go with the cake and tinted the frosting pink because I thought it would make it look cheerful and fun. Plus pink is my favorite color.Whipped Cream Cake | Pinky's Pantry

WHIPPED CREAM CAKE

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1½ cups flour
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  1. Sift and measure flour into a bowl.
  2. Stir in salt and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. Using an electric mixer, whip the cream until stiff.
  4. Drop in eggs one at a time and beat until light and fluffy.
  5. Add sugar and vanilla and beat again.
  6. Add sifted ingredients little by little to mixture, beating well after each addition.
  7. Pour batter into greased 9-inch round cake pan.
  8. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes.

NOTE:  I should add that I wrapped my baking pans in cake strips which probably contributed to the reason why they rose so perfectly evenly without a domed center.Whipped Cream Cake | Pinky's Pantry

WHIPPED CREAM FROSTING

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp. sugar, add more or less as desired
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • food coloring, optional
  1. Place mixing bowl and beaters in the freezer for 15 minutes or so.
  2. Place whipping cream, sugar and vanilla in mixing bowl. Add more sugar if you want it sweeter or less if you want it less sweet.
  3. Beat until stiff peaks form.
  4. If you want to color your frosting, add food coloring in your choice of color, drop by drop until desired shade is reached.

FROSTING VARIATIONS: You can add 1/2 cup strawberry jam or puree, 1/2 cup raspberry jam or puree, 1/3 cup lemon curd, 2 tablespoons cocoa powder (plus 1 or more tbsp. sugar), 2 tsp. instant coffee (plus 1 or more tbsp. sugar), etc.

One thought on “Whipped Cream Cake with Whipped Cream Frosting

  1. Yummers!!! I will try this one…so one question, when are you going to make a sugar free something for me?? LOL!!! I know, i’m the party pooper!!! Your cake looks perfecto!!

Leave a Reply

